ARCHIVED Trilingual Cycling Glossary

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Léxico trilingüe sobre el ciclismo

Terminology Bulletin 253

By Elizabeth Fragua. The Trilingual Cycling Glossary was prepared in anticipation of the upcoming Hamilton Road World Cycling Championships that took place on October 6-12, 2003. It contains over 200 entries, including terminological information on cycling in general.

Cycling is a sport of many disciplines. It involves both Olympic and non-Olympic competitions. There are three Olympic competitions: road racing, known for its stage races and time trials as in the Tour de France; track racing, for its endurance events, such as the Madison (paired) race and pursuit races, and sprint events, such as the match sprint and the Keirin (motor-paced) race; and finally mountain bike racing, which includes cross-country and downhill events. In addition, there is another Olympic competition, the Triathlon, which comprises a cycling race, a foot race and a swimming event. The non-Olympic cycling sports are BMX or bicycle motocross (acrobatics on wheels), cyclo-cross (an event in which the competitor rides and carries a road-type bike across rugged terrain), and cycle-ball (a German sport resembling soccer on bicycles).

Online consultation (HTML)

cycli.pdf (Help with alternate formats, pdf, 494 KB)
cycli.pdf (494 KB)

PRICE: Free

© Public Works and Government Services Canada 2003

ARCHIVÉ Lexique trilingue sur le cyclisme

Contenu archivé

L’information dite archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, Contactez-nous.

Léxico trilingüe sobre el ciclismo

Bulletin de terminologie 253

Rédigé par Elizabeth Fragua. Le Lexique trilingue sur le cyclisme a été établi en vue des Championnats du monde sur route qui ont eu lieu à Hamilton du 6 au 12 octobre 2003. Il renferme plus de 200 entrées, y compris des données terminologiques sur le cyclisme en général.

Le cyclisme est un sport multi-disciplinaire qui comprend des compétitions olympiques aussi bien que non olympiques. On compte trois compétitions olympiques : la course sur route, connue pour ses courses par étapes et contre la montre, comme le Tour de France; la course sur piste, dont des épreuves d’endurance - course à l’américaine (ou Madison) et courses de poursuite - et des épreuves de sprint, telles que la course de vitesse et le Keirin (course derrière moto); et enfin le vélo tout terrain, qui comprend des épreuves de cross-country et de descente. Par ailleurs, une autre discipline olympique, le triathlon, comporte une course à bicyclette en plus d’une course à pied et d’une épreuve de natation. Les sports cyclistes non olympiques sont le BMX ou le bi-cross (acrobatie à vélo), le cyclo-cross (épreuve sur terrain accidenté au cours de laquelle, en alternance, le coureur monte une bicyclette semblable à un vélo de route ou la porte sur l’épaule), et le cyclo-balle (sport allemand qui ressemble au football [soccer] à bicyclette).

Consultation en direct (HTML)

cycli.pdf (Aide avec les médias substituts, pdf, 494 Ko)
cycli.pdf (494 Ko) es la versión Adobe Acrobat del documento en español.

Prix : Gratuit

© Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada 2003